top of page

Yanuca Island, Fiji- Travel Diaries


Put your hand up if you're in need of a holiday? I thought so....

Pack your bags boys and girls, because we're going on a trip to the beautiful Island's of Fiji!

I've always had a thirst for adventure since I was a little girl. For the past five years, I've managed to explore some amazing countries both with friends and on my own. I've no doubt grown as an individual and have learnt to budget when abroad. Fiji was no exception.

Normally when I decide to travel, I make the decision to fly out to countries that are nowhere near the vicinity of our Australian borders. So this was the first time I got to travel to a country that didn't require me to sit on a plane for more than 10 long hours. It took us an average of 4 hours to get to Fiji, which is located in the South Pacific.

The sole reason my sister and I made the trip to Fiji was because our cousin had planned his wedding to take place there. I honestly didn't expect much from it, but this trip turned out to be both amazing and memorable.

I so much needed the break anyway, so we decided to take advantage of the beach, the coconuts, and the endless activities that were available to us tourists.

We stayed at the Shangdi-La Hotel on Yanuca Island, which by the sounds of it, was pretty much an Island on it's own. Imagine that, a resort making up an Island. I'll take that!

The Fijians were so lovely and welcoming to us. The never ceased to greet us with a hello, saying "Bula!" every time we walked past them, both day and night. They are known to be so lovely and hospitable, which made up most of our experience there.

Here's my sister in a candid shot of the beach.

The resort has it's own little chapel, which looked absolutely gorgeous!

The wedding photo's looked just as gorgeous.

If you're wondering who of the couple is my cousin, it's the groom. He got to marry such a beautiful girl, who managed to organise this low-key, intimate wedding. Hat's off to her for keeping her cool and not becoming a bridezilla. She was just as cool as the crystal clear waters of the Island. The groom definitely wasn't complaining.

Congrats guys! And thank you for giving me a holiday!

This will be the first of many travel blog posts. I have so many experiences to share with you!

Moce!

bottom of page