top of page

Roasted Red Pepper Hummus


Sooo I'm Back!! Yes it's been a while, and yes I apologise for not posting on a regular basis. But honestly, since arriving home from my trip overseas, I've been bombarded with things that were totally out of my control, so again, forgive me for not being a regular poster!

Although I have so many things I'm dying to post (like what I ate overseas and food prepping ideas), I thought to maybe just start with something small...and easy...like this roasted red pepper hummus!! Trust me, I know it sounds hard, but seriously: dead easy. I'm telling you. I'm even convinced that an 8 year old could master this recipe (with parental supervision of course).

This is something I love to make if I'm craving something to snack on. I love a good ol' traditional hummus, but I love to experiment with ingredients I have lying round, and since I had a red pepper that would have gone to waste if not used, I decided to pop it in there to not only bring out its beautiful colour, but subtle sweet taste too. I can assure you that roasting a red pepper isn't that difficult. There are plenty of ways to roast red peppers depending on the equipment you have on hand. I have a gas stove oven, so I was able to quickly roast a pepper on the stovetop. I advise you to check out the thousands of videos on the internet demonstrating how to roast vegetables with various kitchen appliances/equipment.

I love eating this with vegetables, crackers or even speaking it in sandwiches! So not only is this recipe easy peasy, but it's also versatile! How amazing is that!?

This hummus could be stored for up to a week, so portioning them to take to work, school or wherever should be a cinch! and convenient! Damn, I'm loving this recipe even more!

Enough babbling on my end. Here is what you'll need and how to make this delicious bowl of vegan goodness:

Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

Prep time: 10min

Cooking time: up to 10min

Serves: 6-8 people

Difficulty: Beginner

Ingredients:

  • 250g cooked chickpeas (fresh or canned)

  • 1 tbsp white vinegar

  • 1/2 tbsp lemon juice

  • 2 medium cloves of garlic

  • 1 tsp ground cumin

  • 2 tbsp tahini

  • 1 tsp paprika

  • 1/4 cup olive oil

  • 1 medium sized roasted red pepper, cut into big pieces (homemade or store bought is fine)

  • 1 1/2 tsp salt (But use according to taste)

  • Smoked paprika to dust on top (optional)

  • olive oil to drizzle on top (optional)

How to make it:

  1. In a food processor, put in chickpeas, tahini, all the spices, salt, lemon juice, garlic and vinegar. Process until well combined. You will find the mixture to be on the chunkier side, but that's ok because the red pepper has a high water content and will provide the creamy smooth-like texture hummus is known for.

  2. Add olive oil to the mixture and process for a few seconds until the mixture starts to become a little creamer.

  3. Add in the roasted pepper slices and process until the hummus becomes really creamy. At this point you can adjust the taste of the hummus, so add more salt or lemon juice if needed.

  4. Pour mixture into a bowl, and drizzle some olive oil on top as well as a good dusting of smoked paprika.

  5. Enjoy!!

bottom of page