top of page

Shakshouka (Spicy Baked Eggs)


So it's been a little over two good weeks since posting on this blog. One of my major issues at this moment is trying to consistently post recipes while working a job (which requires early morning wakeup's) and serving at my local Church; taking up most of my week and leaving me fatigued and mentally drained. I wouldn't have it any other way though. For me personally, and I'm certain this applies to most people, being productive can be quite positive and rewarding. By occupying yourself with the things that matter to you the most, you find each day a to be a different challenge that benefits you in a progressive manner when achieved successfully. Even the smallest of goals that are attained can leave you with a sense of accomplishment and positive outlook. I now find it odd to take the occasional day off to just sit down and do nothing (it's not a bad thing though!).

That's not the reason why I couldn't post anything the previous week. I decided to take the last nine days off because it was Holy week for the Orthodox Christians who got to experience Christ's passion for mankind and glorious Resurrection. Yes we're a few months late celebrating Easter (or as I prefer to call it the Feast of the Resurrection), but that's only because our feast days go according to the old calendar, which some Churches still follow to this day. I was practically consuming a vegan diet whilst going about my daily routine in the workplace and at home before this feast, so now I'm back to eating various meat's and dairy.

Lent has taught me the value of food and how over-consumption is not necessarily a good thing. A challenge for the self-confessed glutton! I have now cut down on some dairy and made a few changes to my diet. This won't entirely affect what I post though. I love vegan food as well as meat and/or dairy based dishes, so I will still post as usual. However, there will be a greater variety of recipes that are vegan/vegetarian friendly as well as healthier versions of heavy recipes that normally call for fat upon fat upon more fat. I want to cater to all of you!

Now, after all of this nonsensical rambling, here is a dish I love making for breakfast where I feel like indulging myself and my family. I only make this when I have a few extra hours to spare in the morning, so it isn't exactly time-friendly, but my God does it taste delicious!

Behold the Shakshouka!

Shakshouka is a dish of poached eggs almost drowning in an amazing spicy tomato-based sauce that is almost too good to take a bite out of. It is essentially a Middle Eastern dish that is comprised of staple pantry ingredients, creating robust flavours that are familiar to the countries of this region. One being cumin, a spice commonly used in savoury dishes such as this one and one that is well known for it's pungent earthy flavour that can dramatically change the course of any dish.

Shakshouka

Preparation time 10 minutes

Cooking time 30-40 minutes

Serves 2-3

Difficulty Intermediate

Ingredients

  • 1 small red pepper

  • 1 medium sized yellow onion

  • 2 cloves garlic

  • 1 tsp paprika

  • 1 tsp smoked paprika

  • 1/2 tsp cumin

  • Salt & Pepper to taste

  • 1 tbsp tomato paste

  • 100g kidney beans, rinsed well

  • 400g diced tomatoes (I used canned tomatoes)

  • 1 tbsp olive oil

  • 1 tsp harissa paste (or any spicy sauce of your choice)

  • 2-3 Large eggs

How to make it

  1. Preheat oven to 230 degrees celcius

  2. Drizzle the olive oil on a large skillet and place on the stove on medium- high heat. Add the onion and garlic and stir for a few minutes or until the onion is fairly translucent. Make sure the garlic doesn't burn though.

  3. Add all of your spices and stir until they become aromatic and completely coat the onion. Add the salt and pepper to required taste.

  4. Add the tomato paste and stir for 2 minutes. You can then incorporate the diced tomatoes and harissa paste. Stir for 5 minutes and then add your beans and diced red pepper. Stir and leave on medium-low heat for another 10 minutes.

  5. Crack your eggs into small bowls for easier pouring. One egg in each bowl.

  6. Create little "wells" with a large spoon in the sauce mixture, but make sure they aren't too deep otherwise the eggs will completely drown and overcook in the oven. You can turn off the stove at this point.

  7. pour the eggs into each well you've created, and place the skillet into the oven for 15 minutes. Check the eggs every few minutes, depending on how runny you want the yokes to be. 15 minutes should be enough for nicely poached yokes.

  8. Enjoy the dish with any bread of your choice straight from the skillet!

bottom of page