top of page

Walnut and Cranberry Freekeh Salad


As most of my friends know, I've been obsessed with making salads that don't contain the usual additions that normally make up an ordinary side dish. For the last month, I've experimented with different grains that I already had in the pantry and that were left unused. Little did I know that we've been storing an abundance of pasta's, legumes and other unconventional grains this whole time! My parents were right...it seems as though I don't really live at home, even though I still consider my current living status as "living with my parents". I find this interesting as I practically live in my kitchen!

One of my recent favourite grains I've been using in my cooking lately is 'Freekeh' (pronounced free-ka), which is an ancient cereal food derived from North Africa. These grains are taken from the green wheat and are then roasted and threshed to create the texture and flavour its well known for. Coming from an Egyptian family, we've always used freekeh as a stuffing in the poultry used for major feasts such as Easter (or namely The Feast of the Resurrection for the Orthodox Christians).

What I love most about this grain is the nutty flavour and health benefits it provides, such as its high fibre and protein content. Not to mention it is well suited for those trying to manage their diabetes. So really, we may as well label this as a super food (I'm pretty sure someone out their has already done so).

My walnut and cranberry freekeh salad is an excellent way to showcase this practically flawless grain. The natural nuttiness that already comes from the grain requires minimal punch-in-your-face flavours that are normally needed to flavour these types of foods. I figured that adding some sweetness from the cranberries and pomegranate would help cut through the walnuts and spices that help bring the salad together. It sure makes it look pretty colourful too! By the way, That's a vegan feta that I crumbled onto the dish. Yes, VEGAN FETA!

Walnut and Cranberry Freekeh Salad

Preparation time: 15 minutes

Cooking time: 15 minutes

Serves: 3-4

Difficulty: Easy

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup dry freekeh (soaked in water for 15 minutes)

  • 1 medium yellow onion, grated

  • 2 teaspoons salt, plus extra for desired taste

  • 1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

  • 2 teaspoons mixed spice

  • 1/2 cup raw walnuts

  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries (soaked in water for 5 minutes)

  • 200g string green beans

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil

  • 1/4 cup pomegranate

  • 100g vegan feta, crumbled (optional)

How to make It:

  1. Boil the already soaked freekeh in a saucepan for 8 minutes. Once cooked, drain and place in a mixing bowl to cool slightly.

  2. Add the grated onion and spices and mix thoroughly. On the stove top, place a pan (preferably non-stick) and pour the olive oil. Turn on stove to medium-high heat.

  3. Spoon in the freekeh mix and cook for 10 minutes or until the spices start to become fragrant.

  4. Incorporate the cranberries and beans to the pan and stir well. Taste the freekeh to see if any more salt needs to be added.

  5. Turn down the heat to low and add the walnuts. Stir well and place onto a serving bowl.

  6. Throw in the pomegranate and crumbled feta. Enjoy!

bottom of page